Home     Videos     Pics      Biographie     Tour     Gear     Education

Biographie

(placeholder)
(placeholder)

What to know


Andy Horst studied Drums & Percussion in Würzburg (Germany) and New York (US). Concerts & tours through Europa, North- and South America. Musician of various musical-productions (among others The Rocky Horror Show). CD-records as a musician and producer. He is also working as a songwriter, arranger and teacher. Educator at the Deutsche Pop (German pop college).

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

At the age of 10 he played in his first musical and two years later he joined his first band. In the following years he had many projects with different brass ensembles and orchestra. With the formation of the band "HERTHA", he started taking drum lessons with Klaus Braun Hessing, who not only showed him how to play rock music, but also encouraged him to become a professional musician.


He continued to play with several bands, and over the years the stage became more and more his home.  Around this time he began spending more time in rehearsal rooms, and on tour, than anywhere else. A long string of festivals and pub gigs eventually turned him into a genuine musician.


After many years of playing in bands, and much stage experience, he decided to  broaden his horizons and shoot for something different. So in 2006  he began his academic studies of classical percussion at the University of Music in Würzburg, Germany. This provided him with an insight into playing with an orchestra and gave him the opportunity to gain experience with timpani, bass drum, cymbals,  mallet instruments and accompaniment in an orchestra. He performed many chamber music concerts with both the Würzburger and Franconian Percussion Ensembles and several duos. 2011 he graduated with the master degree as a musician and music teacher.


At the Music University in Würzburg, he also studied elementary music education and graduated within two years. During all this time he never  stopped advancing his drumming skills. Still on tour with bands, he attended a  semester at the Drummers Collective in New York City in parallel to his  continuing studies. He was not only advancing his technique: It was an important step on his way to becoming an artist.

Concerts with numerous orchestras, ensembles, and bands led him not only  through Europe, but also to South America and the USA. He's played drums in many  musical productions, including The Rocky Horror Picture Show and many others. In addition to  constantly teaching the art of drumming, you can see Andy on tour in many places this year.



Details:


Bandwork: LETZTE INSTANZ, INVERTED, Donny Vox Band, Anna-Katharina-Trio, At-Eaze, Boom Operator, Purple Haze, The Four Tunes, Current, The Backwoods, Stefan Rauch, Jonny Pechstein, Addi m., Deco Dalponte, Winzerkapelle Rödelsee,


Musicals: The Rocky Horror Show, Guys & Dolls, Bonny & Clyde, Arno und die Ameisenbande


Studiowork: INVERTED, At-Eaze, Fránk Bayer, Amadeuschor Neuendettelsau, Boom Operator, Terry Lee Burns, Michael Ende


Ensemblework: Percussion in Perfection (Eckhardt Kopetzki), Frankonia Perc.-Ensemble, Würzburger Perc.-Ensemble, Andy Horst & Vladi Strecker Projekt, div. kleinere Projekte


Orchestra cooperation: Philharmonisches Orchester Würzburg, Bamberger Symphoniker, Münchner Kammerorchester, Uwe Ungerer Projektorchester, Audi Bläserphilharmonie, Penderecki Projektorchester, div. smaller projects

Biographie

(placeholder)
(placeholder)

What to know


Andy Horst studierte Schlagzeug und Percussion in Würzburg und New York. Konzerte & Tourneen in Europa, Nord- und Südamerika. Musiker div. Musicalproduktionen (u.a. The Rocky Horror Show). CD-Produktionen, als Musiker und Produzent. Zudem ist er Songwriter, Arrangeur und Pädagoge. Dozent an der Deutschen Pop.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bereits mit 10 Jahren trommelte er sein erstes Musical, zwei Jahre später durfte er erstmals in einer Band den Takt angeben. Es folgten u.a. Projekte mit verschiedenen Brass-Ensembles ond Orchestern. Mit der Gründung der Band HERTHA nahm er auch Schlagzeug-Unterricht bei Klaus Braun Hessing, der ihm nicht nur die Rockmusik näher brachte, sondern später auch den Gedankenanstoß gab, Musik als Beruf auszuüben.

Er spielte mit diversen Bands und im Laufe der Jahre wurde die Bühne immer mehr sein Zuhause, was ihn schon damals viel Zeit in Proberäumen und auf Tour verbringen ließ. Festivals, Stadtfeste aber auch Kellerkneipen prägten das Bild und formten ihn mehr und mehr zum Musiker.


Nach vielen Jahren Band- und Bühnenerfahrung beschloss er seinen musikalischen Horizont zu erweitern, und begann 2006 ein Studium an der Hochschule für Musik Würzburg im klassischen Schlagwerk. Dies gab ihm Einblicke in das professionelle Orchestermusizieren und bot die Möglichkeit seine Erfahrungen mit Pauken, Gr. Trommel, Becken, Mallets und Accessoires zu vertiefen. Kammermusikalisch konzertierte er mit dem Würzburger Perc.-Ensemble, Frankonia Perc.-Ensemble und verschiedenen Duos. 2011 schloss er sein Studium als Diplommusiker, und Diplommusiklehrer erfolgreich ab.


Er genoss am gleichen Institut auch eine Ausbildung in Elementarer Musikpädagogik welche er binnen zwei Jahren mit einer zusätzlichen Lehrbefähigung absolvierte. Während dieser gesamten Zeit ließ er jedoch seine Drumsettätigkeit nie ruhen. Immer noch mit Bands auf Tour, studierte er zusätzlich während seiner Semesterferien am Drummers Collective in New York City. Dies brachte ihn nicht nur schlagzeugtechnisch weiter, auch für seinen Weg als Musiker war es eine wichtige Erfahrung.


Konzerte mit verschiedenen Orchestern, Ensembles und Bandformationen führten ihn bisher nicht nur durch Europa, sondern auch nach Südamerika und die USA. Gewirkt am Schlagzeug hat er bei diversen Musicalproduktionen, u.a. The Rocky Horror Show. Neben regelmäßiger Dozenten ist er auch dieses Jahr wieder auf vielen Veranstaltungen und Workshops zu sehen.



Übersicht:


Bandarbeit: LETZTE INSTANZ, INVERTED, Anna-Katharina-Trio, Donny Vox Band, At-Eaze, Boom Operator, Purple Haze, The Four Tunes, Current, The Backwoods, Stefan Rauch, Jonny Pechstein, Addi m., Deco Dalponte, Winzerkapelle Rödelsee,


Musicals: The Rocky Horror Show, Guys & Dolls, Bonny & Clyde, Arno und die Ameisenbande


Studioarbeit: INVERTED, At-Eaze, Fránk Bayer, Amadeuschor Neuendettelsau, Boom Operator, Terry Lee Burns, Michael Ende


Ensemblearbeit: Percussion in Perfection (Eckhardt Kopetzki), Frankonia Perc.-Ensemble, Würzburger Perc.-Ensemble, Andy Horst & Vladi Strecker Projekt, div. kleinere Projekte


Orchesterzusammenarbeit: Philharmonisches Orchester Würzburg, Bamberger Symphoniker, Münchner Kammerorchester, Uwe Ungerer Projektorchester, Audi Bläserphilharmonie, Penderecki Projektorchester, div. kleinere Projekte